Just another WordPress.com site

Pre-flight jitters(?)

Hey all!

Welcome to my first ever blog! Let’s see how well this goes!

Anyways, as the song goes, “My bags are packed/I’m ready to go.” As I write this, preparations are underway for my upcoming study abroad trip in Seville on Saturday. All my bags are, for the most part, packed and I’m physically ready to go. All that’s left is the mental preparation for endless flying and the culture shock when I actually arrive in Spain. I’m still not a big fan of flying, but I guess it beats traveling by boat…

For those who aren’t familiar, Seville is located in the southwestern area of the country and is the fourth largest city in the country. Quick history lesson: for a long period in history, Spain was ruled by the Moors (from 700 to 1492), until La Reconquista, when the Catholic King and Queen of Spain reclaimed the country back from the Moors. Many of the building structures still have their base in the Moorish style of architecture.

I’m so incredibly excited to be going to visit a country so rich in its history and culture. As I mentioned, all that I am worried about is the culture shock. For example, the typical greeting in Spain is dos besos, or a kiss on each cheek. I just hope that I can remember little details like that and not come off as arrogant or demeaning…(fingers crossed).

Well, that’s it for now. I will do my level best to post as quickly and as detailed as possible.

¡Hasta luego!

-Patrick

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

